top of page

--- Blog ---

Blog Tour & Review - Our Forever


Our Forever by Elena Matthews

Series: Standalone

Genre: Adult, Contemporary Romance

Release Date: September 27, 2016

Buy Now: Amazon

Synopsis

When you fall in love with your best friend, it’s the kind of love that’s supposed to last forever.

Jo Donovan was a true believer of happily ever afters—until her best friend, Christopher, was killed in Afghanistan, destroying her belief that fairy-tale endings existed.

Destroying her. Destroying her world.

Five years later...

Jo finds herself still stuck in the past, unable to find closure with Christopher’s death.

When she moves to Austin, Texas, with her son, Junior, she’s finally given the fresh start she’s been desperately seeking.

What she doesn’t know is that the fresh start comes in the form of her sexy neighbor, Drew Greyson.

Their friendship starts off rocky, but eventually, a spark between them ignites. It isn’t long before that spark turns explosive, and she finds herself falling for him.Their friendship starts off rocky, but eventually, a spark between them ignites. It isn’t long before that spark turns explosive, and she finds herself falling for him.

Drew wants to be her everything, her forever, but will Jo’s pain from losing Christopher stop her from following her heart?

Warning: Recommended for ages 18+ due to explicit language and sexual situations.

Review

I received this ARC from IndieSagePR in exchange for an honest review...

Words cannot justify just how much I absolutely adored this book! Our Forever by Elena Matthews is a spin-off of the authors first series, Look After You and the first book I’ve read from this author. Have you every read a book that has awoken emotions and thoughts that you never even knew you had? Truth is, this book took over my life for the past four hours because I couldn’t force myself to put it down and before I knew it, I had finished the entire book in one sitting. This is the story of Jo Donovan, a single mother who tragically lost the love of her life to the war in Afghanistan. She lost her happily ever after that night and gave up on ever finding something like that again. At least until she moves to Austin, Texas with her son, Junior where she is given the fresh start she so desperately needed. Enter Drew Greyson, the guy who will change her life for the better, but will she let him? To find out what happen, pick up your copy of Our Forever by Elena Matthews today!

Giveaway

Teasers

Excerpts

Excerpt #1

“So, this is new to us, huh? The whole having a face-to-face conversation? My hands are at a loss without the phone—which, by the way, is mine now.” I give out a teasing grin as my eyes flitter between Drew and the soccer field. “I thought we already established that it was all yours, sugar.” The way he pronounces sugar in his husky, deep voice with a sexy gleam in his eyes, I suddenly feel vulnerable, as if every inch of my naked body is on show. It’s unnerving, and my thighs begin to tremble again.

Jesus Christ. He blinks, his eyes crinkling with humor. “This isn’t new to me though. I seem to recall some crazy woman ripping me a new one for playing my music too loud, dressed in only a skimpy white T-shirt and a pair of…oh, wait, what color were they again?” He’s quiet for a moment, as if deep in thought, before going in for the kill. “Red panties.” He shakes his head with a reminiscent look on his face, almost like he’s replaying the scene over and over again in his head.

I can’t believe he remembers what color my panties were. He edges closer to me until his warm breath can be felt against my ear.

Holy hell. “Can I confess something to you?”

I think I manage a nod of some kind, but I can’t be a hundred percent sure since the heat I feel surrounding me at his proximity is messing with my focus. All I am aware of is Drew and the incredible smell that radiates from him. It’s a mixture of summer fruits, soap, and sex. Yes, he smells of satisfying, dirty, rugged sex, and that sweet yet woodsy scent is making me feel a little light-headed. “Since that moment I set eyes on you, I haven’t been able to stop thinking about you.”

Now, I can’t breathe. Holy shit. I could easily pass out right now. He pulls away with a smug smile on his lips, knowing just how much his words have affected me.

My clothes seem to cling to my skin, and that’s when I realize I’m drenched in sweat. I can barely glance his way, overwhelmed with an emotion I’ve never felt before. He’s everywhere, and it’s suffocating but not in a hands-wrapped-around-my-throat-trying-to-strangle-me way. It’s more of an I’m-so-incredibly-turned-on kind of way. I try to speak, but no words leave my mouth. I am officially speechless, and for the first time since our friendship began, I have no witty comment to throw back at him.

Excerpt #2 “I love that I was your first since Christopher, that I was the first to push through those hardened walls that you’d kept in place since he died. There should never be a day when you’re not worshipped, and I can imagine he thought so, too. There should never be a day when you’re not smiling because, when you do, you’re so fucking breathtaking that it literally hurts to breathe. You deserve the world and everything in it. You deserve forever.”

I let out a long sigh while my heart constricts in my chest. “I might deserve forever, but happily ever after is bullshit because forever doesn’t exist.” “I’d like to put a wager on that.”

I stare at him with utter confusion. “A wager?” “That I can make you believe in forever again.”

I cock my head to the side, smiling in spite of myself. “I didn’t realize you were such a Prince Charming.”

“I am. I’m just a badass Prince Charming with tattoos and a big cock but one who believes that forever is possible.” I almost choke on my laughter at the big-cock comment. “Such the modest one, aren’t you?”

“Never said I wasn’t.” He grins. “It’s a lost cause,” I add pointedly.

“Nothing that involves you is a lost cause.”

“So, what’s the time frame of this wager, and what do I get if I win?” “Six months and a lifetime’s worth of cupcakes,” he says straight off the bat, almost as if he had been prepared for my question.

I smile before asking my next question, “And, for argument’s sake, what do you get if you win?” He trails his finger along my cheek. “I get you.”

My breathing falters, and I look him directly in the eyes to see only honesty swimming through his sea-blue hues. I fall in love with his answer, and my racing heart only confirms that. “Okay, but it’s your loss.”

“We’ll see, sugar.”

About Elena Matthews

Receptionist by day, author by night, Elena Matthews is from Manchester, United Kingdom, the home of Manchester United, MediaCity and of course, Coronation Street. When Elena isn’t writing, she can be found with her nose in a book or watching guilty pleasures such as Grey’s Anatomy. And when she isn’t doing any of those things, you can often find her on Facebook, obsessing over Kellan Kyle, book boyfriend extraordinaire.

Connect with the author: Website / Facebook / Twitter / Goodreads / Newsletter

- follow -

  • 127110_57f23eb76a4440da956d46d2135e3706~mv2_d_2296_2296_s_2
  • 15dd0e_983b7450c2c94e1db859367a3d0b3319
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle

Welcome to my blog! I'm Aurora Hale, a twenty-one year old college student who loves to read and review books. I hope you will all join me in the fight to raise awareness for the bibliophile population...

- archives -

- tags -

No tags yet.

- copyright -

whoo gives a hoot

book blog

just a girl fighting to raise awareness for the bibliophile population one book at a time...

bottom of page