top of page

--- Blog ---

Blog Tour & Review - Girl on the Brink


Girl on the Brink by Christina Hoag

Genre: YA Romance/Thriller

Release Date: August 30, 2016

Buy Now: Amazon / B&N / Kobo

Synopsis

Sometimes the one you love isn’t the one you’re meant to be with. The summer before senior year, Chloe starts an internship as a reporter at a local newspaper. While on assignment, she meets Kieran, a quirky aspiring actor. Chloe becomes smitten with Kieran’s charisma and his ability to soothe her soul, torn over her parents’ impending divorce. But as their bond deepens, Kieran becomes smothering and flies into terrifying rages. He confides in Chloe that he suffered a traumatic childhood, and Chloe is moved to help him. If only he could be healed, she thinks, their relationship would be perfect. But her efforts backfire, and Kieran turns violent. Chloe breaks up with him, but Kieran pursues her relentlessly to make up. Chloe must make the heartrending choice between saving herself or saving Kieran, until Kieran’s mission of remorse turns into a quest for revenge.

Review

I received this ARC from YABound Book Tours in exchange for an honest review...

This book is intended for a mature audience and should be read with the utmost caution. A woman wearing glasses speaks. “You gotta stay strong, girl. You can’t let him back in or he do the same shit to you over and over. They never stop. And yeah, it’s hard when you miss ‘em, but eventually there’s nothing good left to miss because the abuse just gets worse and worse. That’s what you gotta think of anytime you feel yourself getting weak.” --- Excerpt from - Melange Books, LLC. “Girl on the Brink.” iBooks. Girl on the Brink is the first book I have read from author Christina Hoag, but I’ll happily admit that it won’t be the last. This book was truly one of the most emotional reads that I have read in a long time because it addresses such a strong message that all teens should have knowledge about. I strongly recommend this book to every young women out there because so many of “us” find ourselves in abusive relationships, ignoring the early warning signs. At some point in our lives we have either witnessed an abusive (physical or emotional) relationship or have been in one. You’ve had that friend that begins a relationship and suddenly disappears only to reappear weeks/months later looking and acting like a completely different person. The joy that once radiated off of her is no longer there. Sadly I watched this happen to one of my best friends and it took her three years to finally take a stand against the violence. When we were 15 years old she began dating this older guy. To the outside world it looked like the perfect relationship, but behind closed doors it was anything but. Shortly after their relationship started, her whole demeanor change. My once fun and joyful friend drastically changed before my eyes. She quit the cheerleading squad, her grades began to drop and she lost interest in hanging out with her friends. We all suspected that something was going on, but she never admitted to it until we witnessed it first hand. While her story ended on a high note, hundreds of them end tragically.

I strongly recommend this book to any women who has ever been in an abusive relationship. I also recommend parents having their teens that are just starting to date read this book!

Giveaway


Praise for Girl on the Brink

“An engrossing tale of a dangerous teen romance.” - Kirkus Reviews “Girl on the Brink is a must have for every high school and public library.”Isabelle Kane, Wisconsin high school librarian

Excerpt

The carnival sets up for two weeks every summer in a field outside town. Everyone goes. It’s something to vary Indian Valley’s monotonous diet of bowling, the single-screen movie theatre, miniature golf, and hanging out at the Dairy Cream. Kieran grabs my hand as we stroll into the fair. It’s a riot of dazzling lights, whirling rides and thumping music. I scan the crowd, hunting for Morgan and Jade, who I spot waiting for funnel cakes. “Hey, there are my friends.” I wave frantically at them with my free hand as I tug Kieran with the other. Morgan sees me, points me out to Jade and they both look my way. Kieran yanks my hand in the opposite direction. “We’ll catch up with them later.” “I want you to meet them. I told them all about you.” “I just want to play my favorite game for you first.” I can’t refuse. I let myself be pulled and make an apologetic face at them. Morgan’s expression hardens. She says something to Jade. The crowd swarms between us, and I lose sight of them. Kieran steers me to a shooting-at-moving-ducks game and grabs a rifle. He’s a good shot and soon wins a white teddy bear with a red satin heart sewn on its chest. He hands it to me. “For you.” “Thank you. It’s adorable.” I proudly tuck it under my arm.

“Just like you. Hungry?”

“Starving.”

“Me, too.” We make for the food concessions. “Carnival hot dogs are the best,” Kieran says. “The pizza and hamburgers blow.” “Totally,” I say as we line up. We buy hot dogs slathered with relish—and root beer, of course—and sit at a picnic table. Kieran straddles the bench, patting the seat in front of him. I sit astride like him. He inches closer so our knees touch.

“Open wide,” he orders, looking at my mouth. I obey. He feeds one end of the hot dog to me, then leans in and bites the other end. I crack up and almost choke. “Don’t laugh,” which comes out something like “doan waf” through Kieran’s mouthful of hot dog.

No hands, he chews, swallows and takes another bite. I do the same. We manage to eat the hot dog, and at the end, our lips touch. Kieran presses mine into a kiss. “So that’s why you like carnival hot dogs,” I say when we break apart. “To steal kisses.”

“Hey, I told you they were the best. Hold on, you have mustard on your face.” He swoops in and licks the side of my mouth.

I wipe off his wetness. “Ew, Kieran!” “Mmmm, salty.”

I giggle. He swoops in again and licks all around my mouth and lips. His tongue tickles, and I laugh as I shake my head, sucking in my lips, trying to get him off me as I crack up harder, which only encourages him. He slurps my cheeks and chin, and I try to recoil out of his reach, but he pulls me to him. Finally, he backs off and dabs my face with a napkin as I recover my breath.

“You’re worse than a puppy,” I say.

“Ruff, ruff.” He pants and holds up his hands like paws, then jumps to his feet, holding out his palm. “Come on. Time for rides.”

We run like it’s an emergency. “Cup of tea, Madam?” Kieran points to the tea cups, then pushes open the just-closing gate and leaps in a cup.

We spin madly in the tea cups, chase, block and slam each other in the bumper cars, cling to each other in the haunted house. We finish with a ride on the Ferris wheel.

It’s getting late, and the crowd has swelled with rowdy revelers who obviously made a pitstop at a bar before the carnival. “Let’s go,” Kieran says, after a guy, drunk or stoned, stumbles in front of us.

“I really wanted you to meet my friends.”

“We’ve got plenty of time for that. It gets nasty this time of night, a lot of fights.”

“Okay.” I give a last three-sixty turn in case Jade and Morgan appear. Kieran’s right. Cliques of older guys and girls hang around the perimeter, smoking and drinking from paper bags.

We swing our clasped hands as we walk to the parking lot. I wish the night would never end. When we get in the truck, he blasts the air conditioning and rolls down the windows. We pull out into the street, and as the AC chills, I close my window. Using his control, Kieran buzzes it down again. “The AC’s on,” I say.

“I know, but doesn’t it feel great? To feel cold air and warm air at the same time?”

He accelerates. Bathtub-temperature air whooshes along the side of my body, while my chest is cooled by the AC. The combination feels luxurious. “You’re right. It does feel great!”

He grins. “Told ya."

“My mom would kill me for doing this.”

“That’s why you’re hanging with me, not with her.”

He snakes an arm over and slides off the elastic holding my ponytail. I shake my hair loose and let the wind whip it.

“That’s it, sweetpea, be free.”

About Teen Dating Violence

Abusive relationships are widespread, cutting across socioeconomic, racial and ethnic, religious and gender preference lines. One in three high school girls experience dating violence, while more than half of college-aged women reported experiencing controlling behavior in a relationship. Eighty-nine percent of female college students said they were unable to recognize the signs of an abusive relationship, and a third of teens involved in intimate partner violence ever told anyone about it. For more information: http://www.breakthecycle.org/dating-violence-research.

Girl on the Brink is the story of an abusive relationship. Abusers tend to follow a set pattern of behaviors, and when you’re familiar with what they are, they are recognizable. In my novel, the main character Chloe experiences all the following in her relationship with Kieran.

10 Signs You Are Dating An Abuser

1 - Rushed relationship. He presses for an exclusive commitment almost immediately. He claims to have never loved anyone like this before. 2 - Jealousy. He’s jealous of any guy you even speak to and says his jealousy shows how much he loves you. He’s possessive, calling constantly, dropping in out of the blue, and gives you little room to yourself. 3 - Controlling. He checks up on you, interrogates you about where you went and who you were with, monitors your email and phone. He wants you to ask him permission to do anything. 4 - Unrealistic expectations. He puts you on a pedestal, expecting you to be perfect and fulfill his every need, and will tear you off the pedestal when you aren’t perfect. 5 - Isolation. He tries to cut you off from family and friends. 6 - Blaming. He faults others for his own mistakes and makes others responsible for his feelings: “You make me mad,” not “I'm mad.” 7 - Hypersensitive. He’s thin-skinned, taking minor slights as major insults and blowing them up into more than they’re worth. 8 - Verbal abuse. He criticizes you, calls you names, embarrasses you, uses your vulnerabilities against you. 9 - Mood swings. He goes from normal to raging almost instantly. 10 - Minimizes. He minimizes the harm he’s done to you: “You’re making a big deal out of that?” He promises to never do it again or get help. He goes on a charm offensive with gifts after an abusive incident. If you think you may be in an abusive relationship, get help. Call the National Teen Dating Violence Hotline at 866-331-9474 or text loveis to 225522.

About Christina Hoag

Christina Hoag is the author of Girl on the Brink, a romantic thriller for young adults (Fire and Ice YA/Melange Books, August 2016) and Skin of Tattoos, a literary thriller set in L.A.’s gang underworld (Martin Brown Publishing, September 2016). She is a former reporter for the Associated Press and Miami Herald and worked as a correspondent in Latin America writing for major media outlets including Time, Business Week, Financial Times, the Houston Chronicle and The New York Times. She is the co-author of Peace in the Hood: Working with Gang Members to End the Violence, a groundbreaking book on gang intervention (Turner Publishing, 2014). She resides in Los Angeles. For more information, see www.christinahoag.com.

Connect with the author: Website / Facebook / Twitter / Goodreads

- follow -

  • 127110_57f23eb76a4440da956d46d2135e3706~mv2_d_2296_2296_s_2
  • 15dd0e_983b7450c2c94e1db859367a3d0b3319
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle

Welcome to my blog! I'm Aurora Hale, a twenty-one year old college student who loves to read and review books. I hope you will all join me in the fight to raise awareness for the bibliophile population...

- archives -

- tags -

No tags yet.

- copyright -

whoo gives a hoot

book blog

just a girl fighting to raise awareness for the bibliophile population one book at a time...

bottom of page