top of page

--- Blog ---

Book Traveling Thursday - Halloween is Here!


Hello and welcome to my very first installment of Book Traveling Thursday, a weekly meme hosted by @The Girl Who Read Too Much & @Danielle’s Book Blog. You can find the list of monthly topics on their Goodreads page at the beginning of every month.

So what do you have to include in your BTT post? It’s simple really… Write a blog post explaining why you chose that book and choose different covers from different countries (choose different editions of the original cover, the cover from your country, your favorite cover, and your least favorite cover). This week’s theme is Halloween is here! Choose a spooky read that you have either read or want to read. For my first BTT I decided to pick a classic, IT by Stephen King. The reason I chose this book is because it was one of the first scary novels (& movies) I ever read (& watched). Growing up my mom talked about how she was a huge fan of Stephen King and how his books scared the living daylights out of her. Stephen King is truly the KING of thrillers!

 

ORIGINAL COVER/COVER FROM MY COUNTRY

(United States)

Synopsis

A promise made twenty-eight years ago calls seven adults to reunite in Derry, Maine, where as teenagers they battled an evil creature that preyed on the city's children. Unsure that their Losers Club had vanquished the creature all those years ago, the seven had vowed to return to Derry if IT should ever reappear. Now, children are being murdered again and their repressed memories of that summer return as they prepare to do battle with the monster lurking in Derry's sewers once more.

For being an 1986 release, this original cover is a pretty good one. However, since there have been many revisions over the years and covers have changed, it is not my favorite.

 

FAVORITE COVERS

UNITED STATES (1987) UNITED STATES CZECH (2016)

I really loved the Czech cover for IT because it was a really intriguing interpretation that represents the book and scares the living daylights out of people!

 

LEAST FAVORITE COVERS

Slovak (2016) US (25th Anniversary) Finnish (2016)

I actually enjoyed most of the covers for IT, but for the purpose of this post I decided to pick my least favorite of the collection.

 

*So what are your thoughts on these covers? Have you read this book or any others from Stephen King. Leave your thoughts down in the comments and I'll get back to you as soon as possible. Until next time happy BOOK TRAVELING THURSDAY and a HAPPY early HALLOWEEN!*

- follow -

  • 127110_57f23eb76a4440da956d46d2135e3706~mv2_d_2296_2296_s_2
  • 15dd0e_983b7450c2c94e1db859367a3d0b3319
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle

Welcome to my blog! I'm Aurora Hale, a twenty-one year old college student who loves to read and review books. I hope you will all join me in the fight to raise awareness for the bibliophile population...

- archives -

- tags -

No tags yet.

- copyright -

whoo gives a hoot

book blog

just a girl fighting to raise awareness for the bibliophile population one book at a time...

bottom of page